Home / Teams / Italy Fails to Qualify for 2018 FIFA World Cup

Italy Fails to Qualify for 2018 FIFA World Cup

For the first time in 60 years, Italy has failed to qualify for the World Cup. Italy and Sweden played to a scoreless draw Monday, Nov. 13 2017, in Milan. Since Sweden won the first leg of their qualifying playoff last Friday, it will advance to next year’s FIFA World Cup in Russia on aggregate. This will be the first World Cup since 1958 not to feature the Italian side. The country’s streak of 14 consecutive world cups had been the third-longest in the world, trailing only Germany and Brazil. The headline in La Gazzetta Dello Sport read in Italian, “Italy this is the apocalypse.” Now Italy, which ranks 15th in the world, must regroup without legendary goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon, who will retire from international competition after 20 years playing for his country. Italy joins the likes of Chile, Cameroon, the Netherlands and the United States ― all of whom failed to qualify for Russia.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

About 2018 World Cup

Get all the latest news from the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Check Also

Brazil is the first national team to qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia

The Brazilian team confirmed its spot by beating Paraguay 3-0 on March 28, 2017 in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.