Home / News / List of Referees for 2018 FIFA World Cup

List of Referees for 2018 FIFA World Cup

Referee plays an important part in every football match and the role of referees becomes even more important when the tournament is FIFA World Cup. It is important for FIFA to select the best of the available officials for the 2018 FIFA World Cup as one wrong decision of the referee could change the outcome of a match. The referees, assistant referees and fourth officials (collectively known as match officials) shall be appointed by the FIFA Referees Committee for each match and the committee’s decision regarding the appointment of Match Official will be final and not subject to appeal. The FIFA Referees Committee will select the Referees from the FIFA International Refereeing List in force.

FIFA has announced a list of official referees from all six football confederations for the 2018 FIFA World Cup tournament.  On 30th May 2018 Saudi Arabian referee Fahad Al-Mirdasi was withdrawn from the officials’ list due to match-fixing at King Cup Final. The assistant referees Mohammed Al-Abakry and Abdulah Al-Shalwai were also withdrawn. Two assistant referees Hasan ALMAHRI (UAE) and Hiroshi YAMAUCHI (JPN) are selected in place of withdrawn assistant refrees while the Main Referee Fahad Al-Mirdasi is not directly replaced by anyone.

Confederation Referee (Country) Assistant Referee
Assistant Referee
Video Assistant Referees
AFC Alireza Faghani (Iran) Reza Sokhandan (Iran) Mohammadreza Mansouri (Iran)
Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan) Abduxamidullo Rasulov (Uzbekistan) Jakhongir Saidov (Uzbekistan)
Mohammed Abdulla Hassan Mohamed (UAE) Mohamed Alhammadi (UAE) Hasan Almahri (UAE)
Ryuji Sato (Japan) Toru Sagara (Japan) Hiroshi Yamauchi (Japan)
Nawaf Shukralla (Bahrain) Yaser Khalil Abdulla Tulefat (Bahrain) Taleb Al Maari (Qatar) Abdulrahman Al-Jassim (Qatar)
CAF Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria) Abdelhak Etchiali (Algeria)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal) Djibril Camara (Senegal) El Hadji Malick Samba (Senegal)
Bakary Gassama (Gambia) Jean Claude Birumushahu (Burundi) Marwa Range (Kenya)
Gehad Grisha (Egypt) Redouane Achik (Morocco) Waleed Ahmed (Sudan)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia) Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos (Angola) Zakhele Thusi Siwela (South Africa)
Bamlak Tessema Weyesa (Ethiopia) Anouar Hmila (Tunisia)
CONCACAF Joel Aguilar (El Salvador) Juan Zumba (El Salvador)
Mark Geiger (USA) Frank Anderson (United States) Joe Fletcher (Canada)
Jair Marrufo (USA) Corey Rockwell (United States)
Ricardo Montero (Costa Rica) Juan Carlos Mora Araya (Costa Rica)
John Pitti (Panama) Gabriel Victoria (Panama)
César Arturo Ramos (Mexico) Marvin Torrentera (Mexico) Miguel Angel Hernandez Paredes (Mexico)
CONMEBOL Julio Bascuñán (Chile) Carlos Astroza (Chile) Christian Schiemann (Chile) Gery Vargas (Bolivia)
Enrique Cáceres (Paraguay) Eduardo Cardozo (Paraguay) Juan Zorilla (Paraguay)
Andrés Cunha (Uruguay) Nicolas Taran (Uruguay) Mauricio Espinosa (Uruguay)
Néstor Pitana (Argentina) Hernan Maidana (Argentina) Juan Pablo Bellati (Argentina) Mauro Vigliano (Argentina)
Sandro Ricci (Brazil) Emerson de Carvalho (Brazil) Marcelo Van Gasse (Brazil) Wilton Sampaio (Brazil)
Wilmar Roldán (Colombia) Alexander Guzman (Colombia) Cristian de la Cruz (Colombia)
OFC Matthew Conger (New Zealand) Simon Lount (New Zealand) Tevita Makasini (Tonga)
Norbert Hauata (Tahiti) Bertrand Brial (New Caledonia)
UEFA Felix Brych (Germany) Stefan Lupp (Germany) Mark Borsch (Germany) Bastian Dankert (Germany)
Cüneyt Çakır (Turkey) Bahattin Duran (Turkey) Tarik Ongun (Turkey) Paweł Gil (Poland)
Sergei Karasev (Russia) Anton Averianov (Russia) Tikhon Kalugin (Russia) Massimiliano Irrati (Italy)
Björn Kuipers (Netherlands) Sander van Roekel (Netherlands) Erwin Zeinstra (Netherlands) Tiago Bruno Lopes Martins (Portugal)
Szymon Marciniak (Poland) Pawel Sokolnicki (Poland) Tomasz Listkiewicz (Poland) Danny Makkelie (Netherlands)
Antonio Mateu Lahoz (Spain) Pau Cebrian Devis (Spain) Roberto Dias Perez (Spain) Daniele Orsato (Italy)
Milorad Mažić (Serbia) Milovan Ristic (Serbia) Dalibor Djurdjevic (Serbia) Artur Soares Dias (Portugal)
Gianluca Rocchi (Italy) Elenito Di Liberatore (Italy) Mauro Tonolini (Italy) Paolo Valeri (Italy)
Damir Skomina (Slovenia) Jure Praprotnik (Slovenia) Robert Vukan (Slovenia) Felix Zwayer (Germany)
Clément Turpin (France) Cyril Gringore (France) Nicolas Danos (France)

At the end of each match, the referee will be required to complete and sign the official FIFA report form to FIFA General Coordinator at the stadium immediately after the match.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 3.60 out of 5)

About 2018 World Cup

Get all the latest news from the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Check Also

2018 FIFA World Cup Opening Ceremony

The opening ceremony of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will take place on Thursday, 14 …


  1. Alireza Faghani (Iran) did great, he is the best ref till now

  2. Alireza Faghani is the best.

  3. Haji maloome irani

  4. Alireza Faghani is best ref till now in worldcup .
    We IRANIAN proud in him …

  5. Ali reza faghani and also Iranian referees team is awesome ❤️

  6. #Wow Alirezafaghani & his group always is the best _ we loves him ❤✌?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.